Tags

,

Hey guys and welcome back to my blog, Lots of Warhammer 40k to talk about including the 40k open day and Warhammer fest!!

But first I want to talk about the recent midlands interclub challenge between ws10gaming and some professional tournament players.

Yep ws10gaming descended upon WHW to play some games against some guys from Redditch wargaming club and the good, the bad and the Dudley, whose every own Gareth Donelly had set up the midlands interclub challenge to get some games against likeminded people in the midlands of all places!

Gaz is well known in the tournament scene and is a member of the the welsh etc team who recently won the home nations tournament and will be part of the team that goes to Serbia to play against other countries for the pride of being etc champions.
Now I was abit nervous against playing against experienced players as I thought id be beaten in a couple of turns but as they say to be the best you have to beat the best!
So my first game was against Gaz Donelly who not only is the organiser of the event but is well known in the tournament scene and is a member of the welsh etc team who recently won the home nations tournament and will be part of the team that goes to Serbia to play against other countries for the pride of being etc champions.

no pressure then!

Gaz had a necron army that didn’t look like it had many units on paper and having never played necrons before it would be a good learning curve against a seasoned pro.
Now before I start I want to say Gaz is a thoroughly nice guy, we got talking a lot about how we both got into the hobby and then he went through his list explaining what certain squads did and what they were equipped with.

Gaz stated that the only reason I was playing him was because 2 of his team didn’t want to play me as I would of caused huge devastation to their armies, something I was quite proud of, whether its true or not I will never find out but I’m sticking with it.
So unfortunately these battle reps aren’t going to be as detailed as usual as I was trying to concentrate on what was going on rather than write down things which would of prolonged the games, what I do know is I managed to get invisibility with Coteaz again which I threw onto Pasks squad but Gaz quickly explained that this is something that necrons love as they really like to snapshot at things as they gain more shots the more they snapshoot, hmm interesting.

Gaz also likes to attack with his scythes on his flyers an he ends up flying units over the enemy and makes slashing attacks. This is how he managed to get rid of all three tanks as well as my wyvern. This left just my infantry and reserves and when Coteaz failed to get invis off on the blob squad then all Gaz’s units descended upon the infantry like dogs round a bone.

Needless to say that the battle didn’t last long after that, with Gaz tabling me in turn 4 with all 5 yes thats 5 of his flying croissants on and all his barges surrounding my aegis line firing shot after shot into its occupants.

Even though I lost it was a great game and Gaz was very complimentary about my list saying it was really good but just not great against necrons, he even gave me hints with what to do for future games should I take the same list.

After the game is was a trip to Bugmans for a fat bloke, no that’s not me, but the burger I went for although after eating it I did feel like the name it was given.

For my second game I played Sam Cook or cookie as he is also known. Sam chose my list rather than Nigels as he told me, he knew how to beat guard,

Sam was similar to my army in that we had both taken an aegis line and quad guns and basically both decided to sit back and fire upon each other. This game was kill points so every unit destroyed meant a kill point received
Now on this game I did not get invisibility (first time ever!) but I did get outflank d3 units from Creeds warlord trait so I decided to keep the punishers and vanquisher off the board.
Before we stated I reminded him that I had Coteaz who could attempt to steal, he laughed and said ok and I rolled and got a 6! I began by ignoring the movement phase and going to the shooting phase my wyvern zeroed in on his sorcerer and got 3 direct hits killing 5 of the squad that he was attached to and also taking the sorcerer to 1 wound, my lascannon teams also managed to cause a bit of devastation in his line killing a number of chaos space marines.

His turn began with his flying daemon prince swooping towards my guardsman, he fired upon my wyvern a got a pen and 2 glances which resulted in it blowing up! His rocket launchers fired upon my aegis but didn’t do a thing
My reserves came on in turn 2, so the vendetta and pcs, Valkyrie and vet squad with inquisitor and more importantly the tank squad all came on unfortunately his quad gun used interceptor against my vendetta which successfully jinked but could now snapshoot only.
I managed to get a 5 for deploying my tank squad which meant I could choose the side I came on and chose the side where his reduced space marine squad was as well as his sorcerer.
I managed to get kill a few more of the chaos space marine unit but didn’t manage to kill them all. Now unfortunately due to the loss of my wyvern I wasn’t able to fire upon his forces behind the aegis line. I managed to get a couple of lucky hits with my master of ordinance but Sam managed to make his cover saves.

Sam managed to bring on his bike squad and his Talons and brought them on right in front of my tanks. Sam managed to incapacitate one of the punishers and remove a weapon (heavy bolter) from Pasks punisher.
I retaliated and fired all tanks into his space marines manning the quad gun and managed to kill them all, meaning he couldn’t now fire his quad gun. My flyers went after his daemon prince and managed to get him down to 1 wound before Sam flew him off the board in his turn. Sam then managed to kill some of my troops behind my aegis line using his obliterators and missile launchers. Again he attacked my tanks with his bikes and talons and managed to blow up the punisher and the punisher however the explosions took some of his bikes with it.

Our game ended at the end of turn 5 with his HQ sorcerer on 1 wound and hiding away in a ruin, Pask had been killed on his turn 5 and some of my troops were dead in behind the aegis. We totalled up the kill points and Sam won 6 – 3 And even though he claimed he would of wiped me out turn 6, I had first turn still had had a sneaky surprise in the form of an inquisitor with a psycolllum accompanying my vet squad with 3 melta guns that were about to jump out of the valk and burn face at BS10!
I would of liked to see his face when he realised that was happening!!

All in all though it was another great day out with the ws10gaming lads against some top tourney players! Even though I was dreading playing the likes of Gaz, he and the rest of the lads we played were really nice and I really enjoyed it and the main thing was that everyone had a great time.

This brings me to recent events.

So 2 weeks ago, I descended on WHW for the 40kopen day. I managed to get there around half 9 (doors opened at 10) and joined the queue which has snaked around the side of the building and back into the car park.
Once we were let in, I was handed a pass and then made our way up the stairs to the gaming room. All the gaming tables has been removed from the hall and had been replaced by a black library stand, some railing to the cash points and then a separate set of railing to the forgeworld shop area. The forgeworld shop area was were you could pick up all the pre-releases such as the knight castigator, the new tyranid beastie, the gal vorbak 30k marines, salamander firedrakes and Vulkan as well as 2014 exclusive models.

I must admit it almost felt as though you were forced to buy something at the forgeworld section as you had to wait your turn to be seen by someone, whereas I had ideas that people would all cram around a stall and be able to just look and then buy if you felt like it. When it was my turn to be seen I walked up with my brother who purchased an event only Navigator for me! Top man! That took the pressure off me as such, I made enquiries about models for some friends on twitter (@Bambambeast) and also asked about the castigator knight to which I was told that they had all gone and it was only 10.15!

Now I had great plans of spending a bucket load of money on some new Guard stuff but ended up not buying anything as I was stuck in two minds with what to get, Now I was undecided whether to plump up the cash for something big, such as the knight castigator, which had fortunately gone, some superheavy tanks such as the Macharius Vanquisher or Nathans suggestion of an Macharius Omega, which would of blown my budget straight out of the water, or buy a few additions of smaller stuff such as maybe a couple of thud guns and maybe another tank. Notice how im saying maybe as I still havnt made up my mind! Also I was thinking of maybe buying an imperial knight as Brian (petes knight) wants some friends to play with!

What I did do though was meet @JamesBragg1984 (james) and @DornsTemplar (Paul), was really good meeting both of these guys and was good to put a face to the names, I didn’t get to meet @gcp129 (gareth) who I found out had gone straight to bugmans after he had got inside WHW!

The rest of my day I spent looking at the various hobby demonstrations which was outback in a separate area, these demonstrations showed off various aspects of the modelling side of the hobby such as painting, terrain building, weathering etc. Also present were some of the GW & FW employees that had built the new models on show. I managed to speak to the lady who had designed the new tyranid beastie and managed to read a few extracts from the new nid book
I then spent abit of time in the hall of miniatures where some armies were discreetly ‘out on manoeuvres’ such as the tyranids / necrons / space wolves and a craftworld of Eldar.
Also sneakily announced at the event was something called Warhammer fest, I was only aware of this due to some of the tweets that I was copied into and it was originally tweeted by @RedSteel:Preston, I managed to track down James Bragg again to see if he could explain more about the event.

He explained that it was a weekend event over the 11/12th October and was to be held at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry. It would be similar to the openday in that there will be master classes and seminars about forthcoming models, codexes etc. Also over the weekend will be exclusive and new release models available to purchase and on the Sunday will be golden daemon painting competition. Each day will cost £20 so £40 for the weekend and I was told that each day would have the same seminars and master classes. The event would be limited to 2500 tickets per day and the first tickets were available now! Needless to say I picked up a ticket for the Sunday on the spot.
I had another meander around the hobby area and then we all decided to leave.

So I decided to pool my money and hopefully buy something big this payday with my left over money from the event, I think I may get some more tanks, or maybe some artillery, but then again I do like the knight!

May the emperor protect!

new wolve print

new wolve print

alternative colour scheme

alternative colour scheme

more iron hands

more iron hands

iron father leads the termies

iron father leads the termies

Necrons MIA

Necrons MIA

Craftworld Saim Hann MIA

Craftworld Saim Hann MIA

Scions

Scions

Tallarn Desert Raiders

Tallarn Desert Raiders

Where r the wolves

Where r the wolves

Deathwing Knights

Deathwing Knights

BA Termie captain

BA Termie captain

raaar

raaar

new raven guard dread

new raven guard dread

new night lords dread

new night lords dread

new iron warriors dreadnought

new iron warriors dreadnought

necron thingy

necron thingy

warhammer fest

warhammer fest

